AboveTopSecret.com Video and Media Portal.Books, posters, and more.T-shirts, mouse pads, cups, and bags.Member podcasts.Conspiracy theory wiki.Alternative news headlinesBelowTopSecret.com - off topic and general chit chat.AboveTopSecret.com - conspiracy theories and


 

 

This topic is in the Computer Help discussion forum.  (rss)


New and improved Firefox 3 and this forum




Topic started on 28-6-2008 @ 08:04 AM by hinky


I upgraded last week to the new and improved Firefox. It has all kinds of bells and whistles. Funny thing about this site. I have received this message 3 times when I open a new tab for a specific thread.

Firefox spits out this pretty little red box with yellow exclamation points:

Reported Attack Site!

This web site at waytotheprofit.com has been reported as an attack site and has been blocked based on your security preferences.

Attack sites try to install programs that steal private information, use your computer to attack others, or damage your system.

Some attack sites intentionally distribute harmful software, but many are compromised without the knowledge or permission of their owners.


_____________________________

Any idea or thoughts on this?

BTW: I have normal settings for security with the browsers I use. I use other security software for machine protection.



   copyright & usage 
Click here for more Computer Help topics
Hot Topics   |   Top Topics   |   This Week   |   Subscribe   |   Home


reply posted on 28-6-2008 @ 08:24 AM by Anonymous ATS


The same thing happened to me after installing the Firefox. My settings are also set on the default settings. It really spooked me. I hope someone has something helpful or informative to say about this.

Being that this is a conspiracy site, it got me even more paranoid than I already need to be.



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 28-6-2008 @ 08:39 AM by Rhain


I have been running FireFox 3 for a few weeks now and have never gotten an alert such as the one described.

Not sure where that takes us now though. My settings are also on default.



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 28-6-2008 @ 08:42 AM by grover


I installed firefox 3 on my iMac and haven't had any problems or messages like that. Of course I have a firewall and have pop up's blocked and don't accept cookies without my OK and I have it set to delete personal info when I log off so...

... but then windoze systems... well, no further comment.

Buy a mac.



   copyright & usage 
AboveTopSecret.com is advertising supported.


reply posted on 28-6-2008 @ 08:52 AM by Question Fate


Ive never gotten that popup, or any really. What plugins are you running? I run no script and adblock plus.



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 28-6-2008 @ 09:42 AM by hinky


reply to post by grover



Grover, the more I think about this windoze thing I heard over the years, you may be onto something. I recently got a decent notebook computer and am learning the ways of wireless internet. It has me thinking of Mac the more I see stuff.



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 28-6-2008 @ 09:47 AM by hinky


reply to post by Question Fate



It's not a popup. It's a full screen of red death.

I have a firewall on the router and computer along with several applications that stop certain actions within my local network. This isn't that type of warning. This is produced by Firefox on certain banners that show up just occasionally within the threads.

Put waytotheprofit.com on your address bar and hit enter. Mine defaults to a Google page telling me the warnings from this site.



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 29-6-2008 @ 04:33 PM by hinky


You can hear the crickets chipping now that this thread has been moved to a backwater corner off of AboveTopSecret.com.

Must have hit on something....

Firefox 3 users click, waytotheprofit.com and see the results. This is one of the banner sites that pop up just every so often.

BTW: whoever moved this thread. It's not a computer issue, it's a web site security issue.

[edit on 29-6-2008 by hinky]



   copyright & usage 





















































ATS Server: www3.theabovenetwork.com
Powered by AboveTop:Board v2.3
Header data processed in 0.039 seconds
Page processed in 0.147 seconds
6 total database queries (1)

(:)








The Below Top Secret General Discussion Web site is a wholly owned social content community of The Above Network, LLC.

This content community relies on user-generated content from our member contributors.
The opinions of our members are not those of site ownershipwho maintains
strict editorial agnosticism and simply provides a collaborative venue for free expression.






It looks like you're using some kind of software designed to block advertising while surfing our site.

We work very hard to provide an efficient Internet presence that services over 200,000 daily visits from people and automated web spiders. A large web site like this, that can handle that amount of traffic, is increasingly expensive to operate. Our only viable source of revenue (for now) are the ads displayed on each page.

If you enjoy our content, please enable our domain in your ad-blocking package.

more information       contact us

[hide this message]