AboveTopSecret.com Video and Media Portal.Books, posters, and more.T-shirts, mouse pads, cups, and bags.Member podcasts.Conspiracy theory wiki.Alternative news headlinesBelowTopSecret.com - off topic and general chit chat.AboveTopSecret.com - conspiracy theories and


 

 

This topic is in the ATS Sponsored Games & Events discussion forum.  (rss)


Hidden link at bottom of page. whatistheconspiracy.com


<<  3    4    5    6    7    8    9  >>



reply posted on 9-7-2008 @ 09:11 PM by InterestedObserver


Originally posted by Jbird
I'll butt out now, but don't say I didn't warn ya's. (3 times)



3 times.... maybe 3 is a big hint about something that he's trying to lead us to. Hmmmm

anyways, here is the raw source from the bottom of the ATS page.




href="http://www.theabovenetwork.com" target="_new">mg src="http://images.abovetopsecret.com/tan.gif" width="88" height="80" border="0">
pan class="vsmalltxt"> href="http://www.whatistheconspiracy.com" class="vsmalltxt">( The Above Top Secret Conspiracy Community Web site is a wholly owned social content community of href="http://www.theabovenetwork.com" target="_new" class="vsmalltxt">The Above Network, LLC. href="http://www.whatistheconspiracy.com" class="vsmalltxt">)


I don't see anything hidden or out of the ordinary, does anyone else?

[edit on 7/9/2008 by InterestedObserver]



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 9-7-2008 @ 09:31 PM by roadgravel


Whoever wrote the html did not close the HEAD tag and start the BODY tag. Seems like a rather odd error to make.



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 9-7-2008 @ 10:31 PM by InterestedObserver


Okay getting back to the the "3" thing I noticed down near the bottom there is

"ATS Server: www3.theabovenetwork.com"

www3? maybe it's just a coincidence.

and the "Site Rank" image source is "http://widget.quantcast.com/user/widgetImage?domain=abovetopsecret.com&widget=3"

widget=3

However I can't see how these would have any connection with the 'game'.



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 10-7-2008 @ 12:29 AM by roswell1


it says www4 for me



Roswell.



   copyright & usage 
AboveTopSecret.com is advertising supported.


reply posted on 10-7-2008 @ 12:31 AM by InterestedObserver


Weird now it says www4 for me too



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 10-7-2008 @ 12:34 AM by roswell1


now it says www2!

it obviously changes each time you refresh the page....



Roswell.



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 10-7-2008 @ 12:37 AM by Zarniwoop


Game or not, that link was put there for a specific reason and it is a mystery to be solved... still a 'game' to me

Something is afoot.

Where is the 'sign'

I hate waiting.

Jbird... stop teasing. You know something



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 10-7-2008 @ 09:25 AM by Kellter


I wonder if it has anything to do with the 911 Pound Gorilla site going live?

The site says coming soon.



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 10-7-2008 @ 11:53 AM by roadgravel


I believe the reason the host name is changing (www2,www4) is that the site is on a server farm with load balancing so your particular request can be routed to one of several web servers. The host is most likely added to the page so that if problems occur the host can be determined.



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 10-7-2008 @ 12:14 PM by JSR


I just had a thought. this whole thing may just be a viral marking thing to promote the new book. just like Trent Reznor did with his last 2 albums. in that case, its not a game.

im going to look into the gorilla book announcement by SO.



   copyright & usage 
AboveTopSecret.com is advertising supported.


reply posted on 10-7-2008 @ 05:27 PM by JSR


has the first line on www.whatistheconspiracy.com... "What is the conspiracy? " always been red? or has it changed? i cant remember.



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 10-7-2008 @ 07:47 PM by 12hourpie


reply to post by Kellter



Maybe it is related. I found some things on this page which may be clues. About halfway down the page, it says


PEOPLE SHOULD NOT WAIT FOR THE SIGN


and

There will then be three warnings given to the world. ... After the three warnings, a permanent visible sign will be left on the mountain where Our Lady first appeared in Medjugorje.



But, it may just be a coincidence.



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 10-7-2008 @ 08:05 PM by ListenD


reply to post by 12hourpie



Maybe I'm wrong but if there is a clue it will not be found anwhere except this site. I'm pretty sure that any hints to the game will be found here on ATS.



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 10-7-2008 @ 09:58 PM by roswell1


Originally posted by JSR
has the first line on www.whatistheconspiracy.com... "What is the conspiracy? " always been red? or has it changed? i cant remember.


Yes, it has always been red/maroon



Roswell.



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 10-7-2008 @ 11:06 PM by xstealth


The 'hidden' link was just put there for inbound links to the new site.


Whatistheconspiracy is a new domain, linking to it from here got it indexed by the spiders, and it needs quality inbound links to boost search engine rankings and page rank.

Its just a search engine optimization thing; and im pretty positive thats the only reason it is here.



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 10-7-2008 @ 11:34 PM by Zarniwoop


reply to post by xstealth



That's all good and well, but what is the purpose of the new site?

I don't 'think' ATS would put an obscure link on the site for a non-ATS site just so spiders will pick it up That would be a new advertising model for sure.

Time will tell (I hope)

Give us a sign... where is it ?



   copyright & usage 
AboveTopSecret.com is advertising supported.


reply posted on 10-7-2008 @ 11:40 PM by TH3ON3


No sign shall be given!!!



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 11-7-2008 @ 12:14 AM by ListenD


Games and contests are moderated by Hunt_Admin. If this is a true game wouldn't it be moderated by Hunt or even moved to the game and contest board?

[edit on 11-7-2008 by ListenD]



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 11-7-2008 @ 12:25 AM by xstealth


Originally posted by Zarniwoop
reply to post by xstealth



That's all good and well, but what is the purpose of the new site?

I don't 'think' ATS would put an obscure link on the site for a non-ATS site just so spiders will pick it up That would be a new advertising model for sure.

Time will tell (I hope)

Give us a sign... where is it ?


Its not just to get indexed, that part is over. Its to pass on the link juice, pagerank and inbound links. It is either a link that was paid for, or it is a new project that ATS is launching.

No way to tell right now really.



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 11-7-2008 @ 11:08 AM by JSR


you know if this is really just nothing, I'll bet the MODs are have fun watching this thread. probable laughing right now watching us looses our minds over nothing.

-----------------edit-----------------
im thinking this is left over from the fifth of november stuff. but, i dont remember it.

[edit on 11-7-2008 by JSR]



   copyright & usage 


<<  3    4    5    6    7    8    9  >>






























































ATS Server: www3.theabovenetwork.com
Powered by AboveTop:Board v2.3
Header data processed in 0.002 seconds
Page processed in 0.116 seconds
6 total database queries (1)

(:)








The Below Top Secret General Discussion Web site is a wholly owned social content community of The Above Network, LLC.

This content community relies on user-generated content from our member contributors.
The opinions of our members are not those of site ownershipwho maintains
strict editorial agnosticism and simply provides a collaborative venue for free expression.






It looks like you're using some kind of software designed to block advertising while surfing our site.

We work very hard to provide an efficient Internet presence that services over 200,000 daily visits from people and automated web spiders. A large web site like this, that can handle that amount of traffic, is increasingly expensive to operate. Our only viable source of revenue (for now) are the ads displayed on each page.

If you enjoy our content, please enable our domain in your ad-blocking package.

more information       contact us

[hide this message]