 |
|
Topic started on 21-1-2004 @ 04:34 PM by Banshee
|
www.1and1.com...
They're offering 3 years free webhosting, no credit card needed to sign up.
Grab it while you can, sort out the details later.
-B.
[Edited on 21-1-2004 by Banshee]
|
reply to this post:
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 21-1-2004 @ 04:42 PM by RANT
|
I'm filling this thing out Banshee and getting nervous? No PO boxes? Why not?
You sure it's not a disguised list maker? I got on one before for some free crap I never got, but got ads/mail like crazy.
Or after 36 months you get a bill for $1000.
That would suck. It's a great find if real. Is it?
|
reply to this post:
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 21-1-2004 @ 04:44 PM by McGotti
|
Im trying this out aswell....will let you know how it turns out..
|
reply to this post:
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 21-1-2004 @ 04:45 PM by Banshee
|
Originally posted by RANT
I'm filling this thing out Banshee and getting nervous? No PO boxes? Why not?
You sure it's not a disguised list maker? I got on one before for some free crap I never got, but got ads/mail like crazy.
Or after 36 months you get a bill for $1000.
That would suck. It's a great find if real. Is it? 
I snagged 2 accounts, and used fake addresses for both of them.
A couple people I've talked to have been signed up for a couple weeks and report no problems.
Their TOS say nothing about charging you at the end of 3 years, so I think legally they can't charge you anything. Besides, you don't use a credit
card to sign up, so what will they charge?
-B.
|
reply to this post:
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 21-1-2004 @ 04:46 PM by Lysergic
|
so in 36 months i will owe them?
or can I just let the site go to hell after 36 months with no worries?
|
reply to this post:
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 21-1-2004 @ 04:47 PM by Lysergic
|
During this process we will need a telephone number, where we can reach you, to provide you with a PIN. No credit card information is required to set
up or to use the FREE Professional Package.

|
reply to this post:
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 21-1-2004 @ 04:52 PM by ProudAmerican
|
Thanks for the link Bansh, I gave it a go.
Almost sounds to good to be true. I skimmed the TOS pretty good, sounds legit.
Damn, I should've used a fake address too.
|
reply to this post:
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 21-1-2004 @ 04:54 PM by McGotti
|
I used real address and fake name...let them send a bill here for john McDainel.....sir nobody by that name lives here... sorry
|
reply to this post:
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 21-1-2004 @ 04:57 PM by Banshee
|
Since there's no credit card, I figure the WORST that can happen is phone calls.
That's okay, that's why I have caller ID on both lines. Plus their privacy policy states they won't share your information with 3rd parties, so
maybe 1and1 will call you ... not Joe's House of Cockpumps.
I'm going to proceed with caution, and give it a few weeks/months to make sure everything stays cool before switching my domains over.
I *just* now got my authentication phone call with PIN, so am on to the next step.
-B.
|
reply to this post:
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 21-1-2004 @ 05:05 PM by Lysergic
|
no email yet maybe they dont like my yahoo account... hmm
suppose i could use my isps but i nevah check it
|
reply to this post:
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 21-1-2004 @ 05:08 PM by Banshee
|
Originally posted by Lysergic
no email yet maybe they dont like my yahoo account... hmm
suppose i could use my isps but i nevah check it 
It took about 20 minutes to get my first email, and Yahoo relegated it to the "Bulk" folder.
Be sure to check that.
They say it can take about 30 minutes to get the emails & phone call.
-B.
|
reply to this post:
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 21-1-2004 @ 05:12 PM by McGotti
|
I hope they do not require phone calls..because i wont answer it unlless I know who it is...Im a anti spammer..even with phones
|
reply to this post:
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 21-1-2004 @ 05:15 PM by Nerdling
|
I've been with this company before, they are money grabbing assholes.
Remember, do not call list is in effect, and your basically signing yourself up for a ton of spam.
|
reply to this post:
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 21-1-2004 @ 05:17 PM by Banshee
|
Originally posted by McGotti
I hope they do not require phone calls..because i wont answer it unlless I know who it is...Im a anti spammer..even with phones 
Yeah, they call you with your activation PIN.
The number they called me with was 497-212-0341,
so if you have caller ID, that number or something similar would be them.
I have no idea where the 497 area code is.
-B.
|
reply to this post:
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 21-1-2004 @ 05:17 PM by Lysergic
|
nerdling go get jk2 to work and come play
|
reply to this post:
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 21-1-2004 @ 05:53 PM by RANT
|
Yet greedy at the same time.
I don't need my own site, but it's free? I could walk away, since I'm skeptical, but I can't. It's free. I hate everyone and everything and will
sing Willie Nelson No Free Lunch while staring at that site until they officially stop giving away freebies so I don't have to decide.
Or maybe, I could finally get my user based gambling site 50/50 off the ground where it's not gambling, it's a coin toss and the house just
takes a fee between parties...
Or maybe, I could start Backroom-Resources to list and host independents in my industry for a nominal fee...
Or maybe, I could start Rant-n-Rave, the premier source for user based reviews of Movies, Music, TV and books funded by links to amazon...
Grrr... or maybe I could do nothing.
(leaning toward the irresistible inertia of doing nothing here)
 NOTHING.
|
reply to this post:
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 21-1-2004 @ 05:57 PM by McGotti
|
i have been waiting an hour and have not recieved any emails.. so im guessing im not wanted in there free "promotion" sounds like a conspiracy to
me..
|
reply to this post:
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 21-1-2004 @ 05:58 PM by Banshee
|
1 of 2 accounts ready & rarin' to go, the second should be ready within 1/2 hr.
I run 2 sites (as linked in my signature-hint hint!) and shell out about $40/month for both of them. If I can catch a break on that money, I'm gonna
take it!
Regardless, I'll not transfer my domains until I'm certain that 1and1 will provide the same or better service than I'm getting now.
5 gigs of bandwidth, with additional at $.99/gig?? That's pretty freakin good. I sure as hell don't get that with my current host!
-B.
|
reply to this post:
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 21-1-2004 @ 06:06 PM by ProudAmerican
|
Originally posted by Banshee
The number they called me with was 497-212-0341,
so if you have caller ID, that number or something similar would be them.
I have no idea where the 497 area code is.
-B. 
I'm not so sure either, I tried an area code locator, but it doesnt show a 497.
Originally posted by Nerdling
I've been with this company before, they are money grabbing assholes.

Like Banshee said, no credit card # was provided so I'm not worried about losing any money. Do you still think there is some type of catch to this
promotion?
I'm with Rant on this one, I dont really need one but since it's free, WTF? It would be a good way to learn and practice some web designing which I
know nothing about.
|
reply to this post:
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 21-1-2004 @ 06:11 PM by dreamrebel
|
Watch for charges to your phone bill
|
reply to this post:
copyright & usage
|
 |